French Market Medallion

Some time ago I posted about Judy Newman’s new pattern release ” French Market Medallion”  You can read about it here!   I have had this quilt on my to do list and I am  delighted to say that I have started  to make it.

 

French Market Medallion 1

 

I have completed the center medallion and first border using lots of  Liberty and Yuwa fabrics.   The fabrics are a blend of traditional and modern; an old meets new kind of approach!

 

French Market Medallion 2.1

I absolutely love applique and I am so pleased with the centre medallion!    The first border is a Liberty fabric appliqued to a grey strip.  Judy suggested that I use the vase fabric for  this border and I am so glad she did.  It certainly has WOW factor and there is a myriad of colours in this fabric that allows me to make scrappy circle borders.

French Market Medallion 3

I love that the corner of the borders are appliqued with cute little birds which blend so beautifully in the quilt.  The second circle from the bottom, of the photo above, is a Yuwa fabric.  It depicts little children walking and two girls standing on the opposite side.  I put them in because it reminds me of my family and my two beautiful sisters.  Funny how fabric resonates in strange ways.

It’s a delight to make this quilt and I am certainly enjoying the challenge and loving every step of the process.  If you are interested in the pattern contact Judy at A Very Fine House

Whilst I haven’t fully completed my top yet,  I wanted to share the journey with you!  I am celebrating the finish of the centre medallion and border one!  I am linking up this post with NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation, Whoop Whoop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Finish It Up Friday @ Crazy Mom Quilts. Stop by these wonderful blogs to check out all the fabulous projects.

Have a fabulous weekend!  Here is hoping that it is filled with fun and laughter.

Marie xxx

9 thoughts on “French Market Medallion

Leave a comment