Lone Stars………….Grandma Stars…..

If you have been following my blog you will know that I am very partial to Stars ….in fact I just love them. I caught  up with some sewing friends this week and just had to share my friend Elizabeth’s finish……..

Lone Star 1

Elizabeth’s Lone Star Quilt  (photographed with permission)

Lone Star Close Up 1

I love the simplicity of the yellow / white sashing and  borders complimented with nine patch corner stones.   Sometimes we deliberate over borders when simple borders are the answer.  I will definitely be considering this type of border in future.   It was hand quilted beautifully using a perle 8 crème cotton.

Elizabeth is renowned for her creativity with” backings” and this one does not disappoint………….

Lone Star Back 1

The left over fabric has been incorporated into a Lone Star Medallion.  I just love it……..  Thank you Elizabeth for sharing your beautiful work with us

Speaking of Stars …..here is a snap shot of my Grandma’s Star hand quilting!  Another block down ………..I just have to remind myself that slowly slowly wins the race.

Grandma's Star 5.1

That’s it for this week.  Not a lot of sewing on my part but I do hope you enjoyed the Lone Star as much as I did.  My take away tip from the Lone Star quilt is to consider simple borders and nine patch corner stones.

I am linking this post  up with  Needle & Thread Thursday at My Quilt InfatuationBrit Sew Thursday at Maybush Studios , TGIFF at  Quilt Matters,   Can I Get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of A Fabric Addict  and  Crazy Mom Quilts Finish It Up Friday.

As always, thank you for stopping by.  Wherever you are in the world have a fabulous weekend.

Sew Happy……………..Marie x

13 thoughts on “Lone Stars………….Grandma Stars…..

  1. Wow! You can really not say which of the two sides is the front…they are both equally beautiful!
    And your hand quilting on the Grandma’s Stars comes along nicely! I just love colorful big stitch quilting!

  2. not seen the grandma star before, looks very complicated to me who has been only playing with blokes les than 2 years. Your friend`s qulit is lovely too

Leave a comment