Double Wedding Ring Day………..

It is such a beautiful day today.  The sun is shining and it gives a whole new perspective to life and sewing in general.  I have been going through my unfinished projects and found my Double Wedding Ring and I have started some more rings.

Double Wedding Ring Block 1.1

My first encounter with quilting happened many years ago when I saw a Double Wedding Ring Quilt in a shop window.  It was a very soft pastel quilt with beautiful tiny flowers on a white background and a very pale blue spot binding.  Isn’t it funny how you can remember some  things so clearly.  I desperately  wanted to buy that quilt but I just simply couldn’t afford it.  The  memory of that quilt  has never left me.  So when my local quilting shop advertised classes for a double wedding ring quilt I couldn’t wait to enrol.  I  chose butterfly fabric  because I love them and thought I had better include something for my hubby and  settled on bikes.  He is a cycling fanatic.   I am hand piecing this quilt and have been working at it on and off for a while.  Now that I have shared it with you I will be giving it more attention.

Holiday Memories button

As the sun shines it brings back memories of holidays.  Have you heard that Fiona at Celtic Thistle Stiches is hosting a Holiday Memories Mini Quilt Competition.  There are three categories Mini Quilt/ Wall Hanging, Cushion/Pillow, Bag/Accessory.  The linky party opens Thursday September 26 – October 4,2013.    There are lots of  beautiful prizes to be won from sponsors such as Village Haberdashery, Sew Me A Song, Fabric Patch,  Blossom Hearts Quilts, Quiet Play.  Stop by and check it out here!

I am linking this post with Stitch by Stitch Anything Goes Monday, Quilt Story’s  Fabric Tuesday and Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday.

As always, thank you for stopping by!  Wherever you are in the world have a fabulous day.

Sew Happy ……………………Marie x

8 thoughts on “Double Wedding Ring Day………..

  1. I gather double wedding ring quilts are one of the hardest to do and here you are doing it by hand, it looks wonderful. Interested reading about a linky party but do not know what this is!

  2. I love dbl wedding ring quilts, too! I’ve bought the paper piecing kits so I can make some for each of my children as wedding gifts someday. I think it’s so cute that you included fabrics that represent both you and your husband! Its such a pretty, non traditional palette you picked for your quilt. I hope you keep working on it!

Leave a Reply

