My First Quilt…………

Well here it is my first quilt , hand pieced and hand quilted!  I was hooked line and sinker………..and haven’t stopped quilting since.

First Quilt Sampler 0

I use to walk passed my local quilt shop with my daughter’s on their scooters.  I always said one day I will make a quilt.  They just use to giggle and push on.  I  remembered the beautiful quilts in the window and I put them in my  mental to do list for another day.   Time passed by …….my family were all busy getting on with their lives and I made a decision to make my first quilt in July 2010.  I absolutely loved it .  I was like a duck to water.  I had sewn before but never made a quilt.  I started with a hand pieced sampler and thought it was great fun.  I loved picking the mix of fabrics, cutting and sewing the fabric into squares.  I find hand piecing and hand quilting very relaxing.  After doing all the work I stalled on the binding.  I love all aspects of quilting but hand stitching the binding goes on and on….   I eventually finished it.

First Quilt Sampler 1.1

This pic whilst not a great photo shows up the hand quilting.  I stitched in the ditch and quilted love hearts around the border.

Sampler 2

During the class I made multiple blocks and as life would have it my Mum had a stroke.  I was able to make another quilt  from the blocks. I chose soft blue and pink fabrics for the setting triangles, sashing and borders.   Then I hand pieced and hand quilted my second sampler.   I just needed to wrap my Mum up with lots of love, hugs and kisses.  She is paralysed down the right side.  My Mum has amazing determination and is  managing much better now.  So that concludes my first quilt story.

My First Time Link Party Button

I am linking this post up with Melissa at My Fabric Relish who is hosting  a First Time linky party.  Stop by and say hi and check out all the wonderful first quilts here!

Have a great day……………Marie x

Leave a Reply

