Little quilts for little people….

 

It’s Friday and  I love when I have a finish to share with you!  I have made a baby Star Quilt using   Jeni Baker’s  In Color Order  Vintage Star  tutorial which I love!   I have modified the pattern to reduce the block  to 11″ and the quilt 44″ square.  It is a good size for a baby quilt and I am very delighted with the result!!!

Baby Quilt 1.1

I chose to make the eight point star using  solids which is not my normal go to fabric.  The solids are “A Day in the Country” and  background is “Nani Iro”  double  gauze cotton!  It is two thin cotton layers of material.  It is very soft to touch and beautiful to use!  Prior to using the gauze, I did a little research on its suitability for quilting.  There were positive views and I decided to have a go.   I also machine washed the quilt  on a gentle cycle, to test the durability of the gauze and it came up beautifully!

Baby Quilt 3.1

For the backing I chose the ever faithful IKEA 100% cotton fabric.  It is bright and cheery with lots of colour to keep a little person happy.

Baby quilt 1

The quilt was long arm quilted using hearts and circles and I was absolutely delighted.   My longarm quilting friend Kylie did a wonderful job!  Kylie said” that double guaze was fabulous to quilt with.”

Baby Quilt binding1

 I absolutely love black and white bindings.  It makes colours dance whilst giving a modern edge!  One more quilt finished and I am very happy!

I am linking this post up with NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation, TGIFF @ Quokka Quilts,  Whoop Whoop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Finish It Up Friday @ Crazy Mom Quilts.  Stop by these wonderful blogs to see the amazing projects and support the linky parties!

As always, thank you for stopping by and wherever you are in the world have a fabulous weekend.

Sew Happy………….Marie xxx

21 thoughts on “Little quilts for little people….

  1. Oversized blocks are great aren’t they! A quilt comes together so quickly with a giant block. I’m working on a picnic blanket “quilt” with an oversized star block today too!

  2. Hi Marie! This is gorgeus quilt and I love the backing. I have Ikea’s earlier similar with only some green and would like to find this with more colours. x Teje

  3. I went searching for you as I have been working on a star in chicken scratch today, should finish it tonight, its an 8pointed star 🙂
    your little ones quilt here is gorgeous…I love the colors and the heart stitches
    Thank you for sharing with us…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a comment