Wrapped Up in Love…………..

As many of you know, I went back to the UK  for a family wedding  and I got to spend sometime with my beautiful Mum.    My Mum had a stroke a few years ago and she is paralysed down the right hand side which limits her movement and her ability to do things for herself.    Unfortunately, she is not able to sew, knit or crochet; all the things she loved to do.  So now she sits in her chair and prays for everyone.  I decided to make a lap quilt for her with a little touch of the divine to keep her company and wrap her up in Love!  It had to be bright and happy to keep her spirits up and keep her warm.

 

Happy Quilt 1.11

Apologies for the quality of the photo.  It was a very windy day and the photographer  (meeee!!) wasn’t too good!  I think you get the idea.  I used  Alexander Henry La Virgencita Folkloric feature  fabric supplied by the lovely Angie @gnomeangel.  Then I used a happy Brandon Mably Lazy Daisy print for the outer borders.  The bright  colours were broken up with a beautiful stripe and conflower blue sashing to frame the  feature fabric.  The dotty fabric is a Yuwa.  I backed the quilt with a coral voile which will be soft and warm on cold days.  I purchased the remaining fabric from Amitie Textiles.

 

Happy Quilt Close Up  1

In this close up you can see the “La Virgencita”  surrounded by Cherubs, Angels, birds and beautiful flowers.  I hand quilted around the lady and cherubs using a pink perle 8 cotton.  I straight line quilted around the sashing.

Happy Quilt 2.1

Here is a picture of my beautiful Mum sitting in her chair with her Happy Quilt, wrapped up in Love.  I hope it gives her much joy in the days ahead.

I am linking up this post with NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation, Whoop Whoop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict and , TGIFF @  Devoted Quilter   Finish it Up Friday @ Crazy Mom Quilts. Stop by these wonderful blogs to check out all the fabulous projects.

Til next time, have a fun filled, fabulous weekend……………..Marie xxx

9 thoughts on “Wrapped Up in Love…………..

  1. What a beautiful quilt for your beautiful mom. I love that in the photo her sweater matches the blue border. It must be difficult to be so far from her.

Leave a comment