Soft Velvety Bags

It is an overcast, cooler day in Melbourne!  I am sitting in the garden writing this post for my lovely new sewing bag!  It is so nice to be outside to enjoy the garden!

Sewing Bag 2

 I absolutely love this bag it is soft and velvety!!!  I bought the Anna Marie Horner (AMH) Loulouthi velveteen at Amitie Textiles a while ago and, as with all good intentions, the fabric sat in my stash patiently waiting to be sewed.   The bag is based on a pattern by Lisa Chandler @ Chandlers Cottage.  I modified the pattern to exclude the 3D embellishments as this fabric says it all! The bag has lots of room to hold sewing fabrics and large pockets to store sewing notions.

 

Sewing Bag Interior 1

The bag is lined with Michael Miller “Skinny Stripe” from the Poppy Collection and I love the AMH fabric at the base!  It just adds a point of difference and makes it even nicer!

 

Sewing Bag Handles

For the handles I used AMH fabric on the outside and lining fabric on the inside.  I attached interfacing to the lining fabric to give a little more support.   I top stitched down each side handles and the top of the bag for additional reinforcement.  I chose not to use any batting for the velveteen as I wanted to keep the bag soft and light!  The bag measure 20″ by 15″ !   I am looking forward to using it on my next sewing day……

I am supporting the linky parties and I am linking this post to  NTT @ My Quilt InfatuationTGIFF @ Quokka Quilts, Whoop Whoop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Finish It Up Friday @ Crazy Mom Quilts!   Stop by these wonderful blogs to check out all the lovely projects and/or link up and support them!!

As always, many thanks for stopping by and wherever you are in the world have a fabulous weekend.

Marie  xxx

 

 

12 thoughts on “Soft Velvety Bags

  1. Hi M, your bag looks deliciously tactile! And thank you so much for my lovely package today! The blocks are perfect, and so beautifully wrapped! Thank you too for the yummy fabrics. You are very sweet and thoughtful. God bless, Jxo

  2. I don’t suppose that there is any chance that I can distract you as I nab this beautiful bag for myself! Marie, look at that bird! No, cheap tactic but you can’t blame a girl for trying! Love it!

  3. Looks snuggly! I had an encounter with that fabric last week. A friend shook hers out and I nearly died sneezing. Do you KNOW how much cat fur velveteen can hold?

Leave a Reply

