Stars and Inspiration!

I absolutely love Stars and they  just keep reappearing in my quilting!  A very special and dear friend had a big birthday recently and I wanted to make her a quilt!   I settled on the Giant Star using the fabulous tutorial provided by Jenni Baker @ In Color Order.   I absolutely love this quilt and the softness of the colours!

Giant Star II Quilt 1.1

I ask my friend to give me a little colour inspiration to help me select the fabrics!  So she supplied me with the following photo of a hand painted ceiling of a Gaudi Building in Barcelona, Spain where she had visited earlier this year.

Giant Star II inspirations 1

This photo was the bases of the colour/fabric selection for this quilt!  I settled for a little blue Liberty with a few modern prints such as a yellow Sketch,  grey/coral Minimalista and a few spots!  The background fabric was a very light Beige cotton/linen blend!   As for the binding it has to be one of my all time favorite fabrics.  The colours in the binding are awesome – Black, Blue, Grey, Lime Green and White.  Who would have thought that such a small print could hold all these colours and it fits beautifully with the fabrics in the Star and the green numerical backing fabric.

Giant Star II quilting0.1

I had the quilt longarm quilted with swirls on the background fabric and straight lines to emphasize the Star points!  I am absolutely delighted with the quilting and I think my longarm quilting friend did an amazing job!!   For the backing fabric I chose a beautiful numerical print in a lime green!  The numbers are outlined with a deep blue which fits nicely with the colour scheme!

I really hope my beautiful friend  likes it.  I just want to wrap her up in Love!!!

 I am supporting the linky parties and I am linking this post to  NTT @ My Quilt InfatuationTGIFF @ Sew Fresh Quilts and Whoop Whoop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict.  Stop by these wonderful blogs to check out all the lovely projects and/or link up and support them!!

As always, many thanks for stopping by and wherever you are in the world have a fabulous weekend.

Marie  xxx

12 thoughts on “Stars and Inspiration!

  1. what a wonderful gift of color inspiration!
    I wouldn’t mind having a ceiling such as that 🙂
    Your Star is divine in so many ways, it is really beautiful Marie…
    I needed to see something artistic with fabrics and threads today, So Thank you for sharing you and yours..!
    Hope all is well in your neck of the woods, I am outside (on a 15 minute break ) cleaning and pruning, designing out gardens to begin planting…I am so inspired by Springs energy and your quilt, which will give me pause to look through fabrics…
    Thank you for sharing….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

