Scrappy Trip Along!

Hi everyone,  I trust this post  finds you all well and enjoying the things in life that make you happy.  I have been busy sewing my blocks for the Scrappy Trip Along Swap hosted by Julie @ 627handworks !  Swaps are a great way to improve your sewing skills!  This swap has certainly provided me with the opportunity to use fabric choices and colour combinations  that I would not normally use.  It has also helped improve my sewing accuracy.  I am really happy with the outcomes.  Just hope my swap buddies are happy with their blocks!!!  Following is a pic of the block and the criteria supplied by my swap buddies!

Scrappy Trip 1.1

Block 1 Bright & Happy!

Scrappy Trip 2.1

Block 2  Colours of the Rainbow!

Scrappy Trip 3.1

Block 3 Orange, Navy, Turquoise/Aqua

( added a little grey & mixed strip to balance out)

Scrappy Trip 4.1

Block 4 Solids only!! ( first time working completely with solids)

Scrappy Trip 5.1

Block 5 ( no colour choice specified)

This swap has certainly provided me with learning opportunities!  The lessons I have learnt are as follows:

  • Be prepared to test out the block first!  This allows you to check 1/4inch seams,  seam alignment  and ensure the block size is accurate!  With this particular block a very very scant quarter inch is required and pin pin pin to match up seams!
  • Make a concerted effort to match the participant requirements!
  • Sew to the very best of your ability and give a block that you would be happy to receive!
  • Enjoy the block arriving at your door step and love the fabrics that are not in your stash!
  • Every swap is an opportunity to improve our skills and make new friends!

I am linking up this post with Fabric Tuesday @ Quilt Story, WIP Wednesday @ Freshly Pieced and NTT Thursday @ My Quilt Infatuation!  Stop by these wonderful sites and check out all the projects!

As always thank you so much for stopping by and wherever you are in the world have a fabulous day!

Happy sewing ……………..Marie xxx

7 thoughts on “Scrappy Trip Along!

Leave a Reply

