As the New Year Begins…………….

This is my first post for the  New Year and I would like to wish you and yours a very Happy New Year, may it be filled with fun, love, laughter and the good health to enjoy it!  It is holiday time here in Australia and things are relatively quiet.  I have been sewing a little bit of this and that and my love of the needle and thread has not waivered!   I am delighted to share my first finish of 2014 – Winding Ways!  The binding is finally on!!  I can now tick this of the Quarter 4 2013 Finish – A – Long hosted  by Leanne @ She Can Quilt!   I originally posted about my quarter 4 projects here!

Winding Ways 2014 1

This quilt has been a long time in the making!  I have been hand piecing on and off for the better part of 2.5 years.   The quilt was long arm quilted with circles just before the holidays commenced and it has been patiently waiting the binding.   I always find sewing bindings a struggle.  I will certainly be trying to perfect my skill on sewing bindings by machine in 2014.  It is my only finish from my  Work in Progress (WIP) projects for quarter 4 2013.

WW Backing 1

I love the backing fabric on this quilt!  It is  a French text print and I think it works very well with the red gingham check !

WW Binding 1

One final pic of the binding.  It is hard to go past a striped binding.  There is just something wonderful about red and white quilts.  I don’t normally work with two colours.  I usually prefer scrappy quilts, however, in this instance it is very effective!

Leanne I would like to say a huge thank you for all your efforts in co-ordinating this QAL.  It is an enormous amount of work and it has been lovely looking at all the projects and tutorials for 2013!  You have done an amazing job!!!  I will certainly continue to participate in the 2014 Quilt A Long which is being hosted this year by Katy @ The Littlest Thistle!  It is a great way to focus on those projects that need to be finished throughout the year.

I am linking up with Leanne @ She Can Quilt to register my finish.  I am also linking up with WIP Wednesday @ Freshly Pieced,    NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation, Whoop Whoop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict TGIFF @ Quilt Matters and Finish It Up Friday @ Crazy Mom Quilts!

As always,  thank you for stopping by and may your week be filled with lots of sewing………………………Marie xxx

24 thoughts on “As the New Year Begins…………….

  1. Hello Marie,

    Perhaps you would rather hear this from a gentleman, but I must congratulate you on your curves. I am a total coward and am strictly a straight seam girl. Beautiful colours too.

    Happy New Year from very soggy England,
    Muv

  2. Congrats on this gorgeous finish, Marie! This quilt is really so beautiful!! I understand your desire to learn to do your binding on the machine. When I get to that stage in the quilt process, I’m ready to be finished! I do all of my binding on the machine and actually have a tutorial on how I do it if you’re interested.

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Leave a Reply

