Favourite Quilts…..

Molly Flanders is hosting a favourite quilt linky party so I thought I would join in the fun!  I enjoy most of the quilts I work on but my absolute favourite is Summer Umbrellas.

Summer Umbrellas 1 jpg

I made this quilt for my beautiful sister to help her celebrate a special birthday.  I chose this quilt because I love scrappy quilts, I love hexagons and I love love hand quilting.  It took me a very long time to hand quilt because I quilted in the ditch on every row of the strippy hexagons.  I quilted the white hexagons with a feather pattern and love heart in the middle using various colours of perle cotton 8 and I quilted the border with  feathers also.

Summer Umbrellas Close Up

This close up pic allows you to see the quilting and the backing fabric I chose a soft lilac tana lawn fabric for the back.  It was so soft and cuddly.  A lady that I sew with often describes the art of quilting as the activity that allows you to intimately know every stitch, piece of fabric and sewing of your quilt.  As this was very long quilting exercise for me I think that is why I love it so much….

I am linking this post up with Molly Flanders, Needle & Thread Thursday @ My Quilt Infatuation, Woop Woop @ Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Finish Up Friday@ Crazy Mom Quilts.

As always,  many thanks for stopping by and wherever you are in world have a fabulous weekend.

Sew Happy ………………..Marie x

22 thoughts on “Favourite Quilts…..

  1. oh, Marie!! I LOVE this! It is a really graceful looking quilt. so pretty! I hate that the picture didn’t show up on the linky, but I would love to highlight it on NTT next week so everyone is sure to see it!

    Thank you so much for linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  2. I sure can see why this is your favourtie, Marie! It is sew-weet! The fun colours and design…. and the quilting is delightful! And I love the scrappiness! Bet your sister has no doubt how much you love her!

  3. oh I see I am already going to get lost with your stitches!
    what an absolutely beautiful quilt….!
    my grandma always said each stitch had to be smaller than your little toenail could get under…
    I have never done a hexagon….I love the look of this one..feels like warmth…
    yes I believe also each stitch is intimately stitched within the quilt as is your energy…
    I read a book many many years ago about a quilting bee that was doing a wedding quilt, one of the young women on the quilt was a rejected lover of the young man that was getting married…they wouldn’t let her quilt after they found that out because her hurt and anger went into it…II was has stuck with me that thought and as I work with energy..I know its true…
    yours feels like alot of smiles..
    Thank you so much for stopping by tonight…your blog is going to be wonderful to wander in…
    Thank you again for sharing this work of art you have created…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose..

Leave a Reply

