Mum’s Retro Apron……..

Hey it’s Friday and I am sew happy that I have a finish…..  my Retro Apron!  It is a great feeling when you have a finish………..

Retro Apron 1.1

I just love this apron.  I used a free online pattern Retro Fun: Vintage Style Apron published on Sew4Home.  The pattern is for a double sided Apron.  I thought that lining the apron, to make it double sided, used too much fabric so I opted to make it without the lining.  The body of the Apron is one piece which still requires yardage but I think the finished look is worth it.  I love the frill on the bottom.  It is so 1950’s.  The mix of red and green polka dot  with the big flower print just adds to the vintage.  The green and red polka dot fabric is Dottie by Moda and the yellow and red floral fabric is Swell Urban Chicks for Moda.

Whilst I didn’t make a reversible pattern I did add some of the finishes such as double sided ties and lined pockets.  I even sewed the apron using a French seam to ensure no fraying and a neat finish. A French seam is a seam stitched first on the right side and then turned in and stitched on the wrong side so that the raw edges are enclosed in the seam.  I haven’t sewn French seams since high school.  Amazing what you remember when you need too.

Retro Apron French Seams 1

I have included this pic to show the reverse of the apron with  a French seam and double lined stitching for reinforcement.  This is a fun apron to make.  It took me the better part of a day to sew it up.  It is a great gift  for friends.  With lots of talk about the holiday season it would make a great Christmas pressie in festive fabric too!

I am linking this post  up with Needle & Thread Thursday at My Quilt InfatuationBrit Sewing Thursday at Maybush StudioTGIFF at Missy Mac Creations ,   Can I Get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of A Fabric Addict  and  Crazy Mom Quilts Finish It Up Friday.

I appreciate the time you take to stop by and love hearing your comments.  Please visit the linky party hosts and check out the beautiful work on display and say Hi, G’day, Good morning or Good evening.  That is the great thing about blogging friends it has no time restrictions!

Wishing you all a safe, fun filled weekend!    Sew Happy………………Marie x

17 thoughts on “Mum’s Retro Apron……..

Leave a Reply

