Improvisational Piecing……….

I thought I would share my latest book and a little piece of improvisational piecing given that I am seriously into using my scrap.  I bought this book recently…………………..

!5 Minutes of Play r

The author, of 15 Minutes of Play,  Victoria Findlay Wolfe visited Australia and ran a workshop for Material Obsession in Sydney.  Unfortunately I was unable to attend but I was certainly inspired to buy the book.  I have been very focused on my scrap pile which is growing rapidly and I  have been endeavoring to reduce it.  So with that in mind, I tried some improvisational piecing by collecting my scraps from projects and piecing them together in a  haphazard manner.   I produced this little gem …….

Impro Play Hexagon r

You guessed another hexagon!!  These scrappy pieces are the fabric left over from my Harlequin Star block which I posted about previously.  I really love these fabrics and I like the effect that it improvisational piecing gives!   I  will continue to try out some more.

Isn’t it lovely to find ways to incorporate  the  scraps of fabrics that you love into something more useable and fun.  Victoria also sets out challenges in the book to  further assist in improving technique and creativity.    She refers to improvisational piecing as” making fabric”.  Which technically it is.  Why let all those beautiful fabric scraps sit around instead of making fabric as you go.  This is why Victoria promotes 15 minutes of play because it is  a more manageable time allocation in our busy days and we are more likely to achieve it.  Victoria blogs at Victoria Findlay Wolfe Quilts  check it out to see lots of inspiration.

Would love to hear how you incorporate your scraps into projects.  Appreciate any comments you may have on SCRAPS!

I am linking this post up with Quilt Story’s Fabric Tuesday and Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday.  If you are visiting from these links  Welcome!!

As always,  thank you for stopping by!   Wherever you are in this world  have a fabulous day!

Sew Happy……………….Marie x

11 thoughts on “Improvisational Piecing……….

  1. How little were the scraps you used? I have all these little trimmings–a whole gallon-sized bag STUFFED full of them–and need a use for them. Your little hexie looks great!

Leave a Reply

