A little bit of this ….&….. A little bit of that….

Some days life is just a little bit of this and  a little bit of that……don’t you think?  That is exactly how my sewing is going at the moment.  Although I am glad to say  I have started hand piecing my Grandma’s Star quilt with perle 8 cotton and I am loving it big time…..

GS WIP 1r

I started out using a white perle 8 cotton for the stars!  I thought if I added colour it would be too busy.  As you can see I  have changed my mind and decided to quilt using various  colours of perle cotton.  I have quilted in the ditch and  a quarter inch in the white backing fabric and hexagon centre.

GS WIP 2 r

I had to purchase  some more cotton which required a visit to Amitie, my local quilt shop.  There is so much perle cotton to choose from it is amazing.  I brought the quilt with me to check out the colours.  It is so lovely quilting this project as it is so cold in Melbourne and I  can snuggle under my work-in- progress!!

I also loved looking at  Amitie’s new range of Yuwa fabrics  that just arrived and I couldn’t resist  a few small pieces……

Yuwa Fabrics r

I am looking forward to incorporating these goodies into my future projects……………..

Well that concludes a little bit of this and that for today!   I am linking this post up with Quilt Story’s Fabric Tuesday and Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday.  If you are visiting from these links welcome.  Feel free to stay  and look around.

As always, thank you for stopping by.    Wherever you are in the world have a fabulous day.

Sew Happy……………………Marie x

11 thoughts on “A little bit of this ….&….. A little bit of that….

  1. I agree, the perle thread was an excellent choice! And those YUWA fabrics would be impossible to resist! (Did I know you were from Melbourne like me!?)

  2. Those stars are fabulous and the hand quilting…. Divine! And any excuse to get to the fabric shop will do! Thank you sew much for the lovely compliments on my blog this morning, Marie! I would have sent you an email reply, but you are a no reply blogger. Thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

