1930s is Alive and Well………

Hi Everyone………hope this blog finds you well and enjoying Friday!  I am focusing on my hand pieced 1930s Grandma’s Star quilt, one of my projects for the quarter 3   2013 Quilt- A-long  hosted by Leanne at She Can Quilt.

Grandma's Star 1

Grandma's Star 3

 I have had this beautiful border fabric for a while now. I just needed to get on with it which is why setting goals in the quilt along is a fabulous idea.   I chose a find grey strip to transition from the various coloured stars.  For the outer border, I chose a vintage print by Kei fabric “Petit Joli” .  It is always a challenge picking  a border fabric for a scrappy quilt, particularly with the myriad of colours in the stars.  I purchased the fabric from a local quilt shop Amitie.

Grandma's Star

 The  border, whilst busy in its own right,  softens the quilt and doesn’t take away from the stars.  Perhaps it is because of a lower colour value.  What do you think?  Is that why it works?

1930 Backing

I am backing the quilt with this lovely backing fabric, that has been in my stash.  It has that modern vintage look which  I think will work well. The next step, basting and then  my favourite part – hand quilting!  It is very cold in Melbourne and there is nothing nicer than being kept warm by the quilt you are working on.

Well that concludes my  finished  quilt top!  I linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts  for Finish it up  Friday, Confessions of a Fabric Addict Whoop Whoop and TGIF hosted by  Lynette at What A Hoot Quilts.

As always, thank you for stopping by.  Wherever you are in the world have a great day and fabulous weekend.

Happy Sewing……Marie x

27 thoughts on “1930s is Alive and Well………

  1. I love the quilt Marie- the border fabric is great – it doesn’t take away from the beautiful blocks and the grey inner border works well too. The outer border fabric settles the eye and really works with all the colours in the blocks. Great backing too!! I wonder what colour and thickness of thread you are going to use to quilt it?? Best wishes – Heather

    •  

      Hi Heather……..great to hear from you.  Thank you for your beautiful comments and the feedback on the fabric.  Your right the border settles the eye and the focus is placed on the stars.  Will be checking out the threads!

      Hope all is good with your………  Marie x

  2. What a beautiful quilt! Love the pattern, the fabrics and the border, too. I have a piece of this fabric in a different colorway and I’m saving it for something special. 🙂
    I think the 30s fabrics look really great together with the small scale print of the setting triangles.

  3. What a really great quilt top!! That print was absolutely perfect for the outer border with these stars, wasn’t it? Enjoy your hand quilting. 🙂 I’m about to pull out a hoop so I can finish my cousin’s hand quilting on her 30s quilt. We can start a club. ;D

  4. Marie, this is such an incredible quilt. I hope we get to see progress photos while you are hand-quilting. I don’t think I can wait to see photos until you get finished. You chose a perfect border, and I love the picnic-y backing. Stay warm and quilt away!

Leave a Reply

