Owls & Butterflies

Hi all,

 I thought I would showcase some of my finished quilts that I made prior to commencing my blog. So today I will start with my Owl and Butterfly quilt.   I made this quilt a while ago and I have just recently finished hand sewing the binding.  I just love it!  The Owls and Butterflies were so much fun to make!

Qwls Close Up 2010

The pattern for the butterflies was designed by Monica Poole – Butterfly Bliss .  I enlarged the butterflies for this quilt to make a 10.5″ block.  The Owls were designed by Carolyn Russell.  It was a great opportunity to learn and improve my machine applique skills.  I loved selecting the wonderful mix of fabrics such as  Kaffe Fassett,  Heather Bailey Pop Garden and other fabrics from my stash.  The pebble quilting on the background fabric  makes the Butterflies dance and the Owls hoot!!  The outer border was quilted with Butterflies.

Qwl Quilt 2010-13

I love how the bottom owl is looking upwards and the open/closed  fluttering wings of the butterflies.  The outer border is  Kaffe Fassett’s Duck Egg Big Blooms , one of my all time favourite fabrics.

I am linking this post up with Quilt Story Fabric Tuesday!

 

As always, thank you for stopping by.

Where ever you are in the world have a great day……Happy Sewing………Marie x

6 thoughts on “Owls & Butterflies

  1. What a sweet quilt! It reminds me of those 30’s style applique butterfly quilts (there are a lot of these in my family, and I have some WIP butterflies that I inherited from my great-grandmother) BUT it is so much more bright, cheery, and modern! Thank you for digging this out of your “archive” and sharing it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

